I have been observing for a few years, and every now and then I am reminded with information that contuinues to validate this position: People are Inherently Stupid.
My home page, LST has directly enlightened me:
The basic laws of Human Stupidity. What a great explanation. I knew they were out there.
I have been driving lots this year. My Dad is in poor medical condition since the passing of my Mother in late 2008 unexpectedly. Since I live about 300 miles from him, I have been fortunate enough to be able to travel to see him often. Not to mention that a girl lives near him that I have taken a fairly serious liking to. Driving from south texas to north texas every weekend for a few months has allowed me to observe some behaviors of others that I would place in this category.
Let me set the stage: IH 45 from Corsicana, Texas to The Woodlands, Texas. Anyone that has traveled this stretch of road knows there ain't much out there. An exit about every 10 miles to little crappy towns is about all the excitement there is. A great Auto option Cruise-Control situation: 150 miles of nothingness.
When I set the cruise control, inevitably, some person (let's call him stupid) will latch on and follow for miles about two or three car lengths back in the right hand lane. Just me and them - enjoying the nothingness. Then, as predictable as the hour comes, two things happen: a) me and stupid approach a car (let's call him idiot) driving 2 mph slower than us, and b) just as we approach to pass idiot, stupid speeds to violate not only blind spot, but comes along side me to match my speed.
Then the magic happens: Stupid matches idiots' speed when he comes alongside idiot. It's magical. Unexplainable. Really. Then, for the next few miles, idiot speeds up, slows, all the while matching the speed of stupid.
Amazingly, after a few minutes, stupid, accelerating slowly passes idiot. Stupid moves back to the right hand lane, and I re-engage cruise-control. After passing stupid, he resumes two car lengths behind me again and matches my speed. Until the next idiot.
I went to a party over Christmas holidays, and heard a story about a rather small lady driving a big truck, and not being happy with the speed of a car in the passing lane, proceeded to 'push' slower car down the freeway until she reached her wanted speed. Kudos, Miss....you rock. I might try that right after i get a cattle rack on the front of my truck.
Sunday, January 10, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment